Goals Vs Resolutions

The new year is only a day away, so the popular question is “What are your New Year’s Resolutions?” Well, I don’t make resolutions any more. I simply make goals for the year. What’s the difference between a resolution and a goal?

A resolution, according to Dictionary.com, is determining upon an action, course of action, method procedure, etc. A goal, on the other hand, is the result or achievement toward which effort is directed, aim; end. In a nutshell, a goal is something I’m striving to achieve whether it’s within a week, month, or year.

I am striving to achieve results; not just trying to set new actions into play. Anyone can decide what actions they want to take, but can they produce results? That’s one of the problems with resolutions, we tend to make them and then a couple weeks in, we break them. Once again failure creeps into our resolutions. Then disappointment sets in, we feel like we have failed once again and then the new year is off to a bad start. Why set ourselves up to fail? We have good intentions but we fall short. That’s why I set goals for myself and not create resolutions. It’s more productive and sets up pattern to help me achieve my goals instead of failing at my resolutions.

I am off to a good start on constructing a list of goals that I would like to achieve this year with God’s blessing. I know without God’s help, guidance, support, and inspiration I won’t be able to achieve the goals that I pray God has placed in my heart.

Do I feel that this is finally the year that plans come together? Do I feel that my plans are on track with God’s plan for me? Do I believe that the goals that I’m setting for myself can be attained? Am I trusting God to lead me on the path that He has chosen for me for this upcoming year?

I wish I could say yes to all of these questions but I still have doubt. I am still growing into God’s plan for me. I don’t doubt God’s abilities or His plan, however I do doubt my abilities and whether my plan is aligned with God’s plan for me.

I do know that while I am growing and striving to be the person that God wants me to be then I am attaining God’s goal for me. As long as my goals draw me closer to Him then He will be happy.

Whether you choose to make resolutions or create goals for yourself is a personal decision. I hope that you’re successful in whichever one you choose.

May 2017 be a year filled with much happiness, good health, prosperity and many blessings from God.

 

Leave a Reply

